k@Borneo k@Borneo - Your Gateway to Knowledge on Borneo
Member's Login

Remember me

Universitas Tanjungpura (UNTAN)

The history of Universitas Tanjungpura (UNTAN) dates back to 10 March 1959 with the formation of Jajasan Perguruan Tinggi Daya Nasional. In May 1959, a private university was established by politician and prominent citizen of Kalimantan Barat (KALBAR). This university was Universitas Daya Nasional and it started with 2 faculties, Law and Business Faculties. On 16 May 1963, the Universitas Daya Nasional was changed to Universitas Negeri Pontianak (UNEP). The change in name coincided further with the establishment of the Agriculture and the Technical faculties. In the same year, the Business Faculty was changed to Faculty of Economics. On 15 August 1967, Universitas Dwikora was renamed Universitas Tanjungpura (UNTAN) and this remains until today. Subsequently, new faculties were formed and also merged. Since its inception in 1959, the university has 10 Rectors and is mainly responsible for upgrading the lives of Indonesian particularly those living in Kalimantan.

Website: http://www.untan.ac.id